Menu

Café Greenfinch The vegan Good Life

Wednesday, April 06 2022
Advertisement
Map

Opening Times

Tuesday to Friday: 9:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 5:00pm

Address

Café Greenfinch
Käthe-Niederkirchner Straße 10
10407 Berlin-Prenzlauer Berg
.How to get there

Contact


.www.greenfinch.berlin
www.instagram.com

Indulgence and sustainability - by now, we have realised that these terms are not mutually exclusive. On the contrary, we are discovering more and more great places that opt for renunciation and at the same time culinary fulfilment, all in the name of the earth. For example, the enchantingly beautiful Café Greenfinch in Prenzlauer Berg.

We wouldn't be in Berlin if the place conformed to an eco-cliché - Greenfinch doesn't just serve delicious vegan temptations. The ultra-cool Memphis-style shop also convinces visually - the vegan icing on the cake, so to speak. A tiled, round counter (whose display already gives a foretaste of the treats awaiting us), globe lamps above it, and a neon signage we particularly like. Hanging plants on the bright window front, terrazzo tables and orange velvet stools create a cheerful, poppy ambience.

Café Greenfinch is busy - of course, Saturday mornings - and a bit bustling, yet the service is convincing with its charm and warmth. Just good vibes, I think to myself. I am promptly greeted by the good-humoured co-owner Vincent, who explains to me why the menu is imperfectly vegan when everything at Greenfinch is 100% vegan (yes, even the grilled cheese sandwich and the pancakes): "I think it's much more effective to convince people to eat vegan food than to always put pressure on them".

Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (30)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (28)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (27)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (25)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (23)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (22)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (19)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (15)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (13)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (5)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (11)

To underline these words, he brings me one of the freshly squeezed smoothies and juices. The Detox Slow Juice with celery juice and grapefruit is something I'll be making more often at home from now on, because it's delicious and wonderfully refreshing on Saturday mornings. In addition, it comes with a delightful sweet ball with almond, date and white chocolate that blows us away.

The thick, fluffy pancakes with vanilla cream, fruit and lots of maple syrup are also delicious. However, the Rainbow Sourdough is particularly great. The word sandwich is definitely an understatement here: all kinds of fresh things in many bright colours cavort on a thick slice of toasted sourdough bread. Homemade hummus, guacamole, fresh herbs and grilled beetroot, for example, combine to create a beautiful interplay of sweet, sour and savoury flavours.

Extremely well stuffed and supplied with good vibes (and another ginger shot), we set off for the rest of Saturday. Unfortunately, yoga is no longer available at Café Greenfinch; the back part of the café is now also a guest room, including a massive, white-tiled table. But there are rumours that yoga will soon be part of the Greenfinch again - it just fits in too well with the happy vegan lifestyle.

Berlin
Café Greenfinch – The vegan Good Life
Reset Map

Menü

Café Greenfinch The vegan Good Life

Mittwoch, 30. März 2022
Anzeige
Karte

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag bis Freitag 9-16 Uhr
Samstag + Sonntag 10-17 Uhr

Adresse

Café Greenfinch
Käthe-Niederkirchner Straße 10
10407 Berlin-Prenzlauer Berg
.Anfahrt planen

Kontakt


.www.greenfinch.berlin
www.instagram.com

Genuss und Nachhaltigkeit – inzwischen ist uns nicht nur klar, dass sich diese Begriffe nicht ausschließen. Im Gegenteil entdecken wir immer mehr tolle Orte, die sich im Namen der Erde für den Verzicht und gleichzeitig für kulinarische Erfüllung entscheiden. So das bezaubernd schöne Café Greenfinch im Prenzlauer Berg.

Wir wären nicht in Berlin, wenn der Laden einem Ökoklischee entsprechen würde – im Greenfinch gibt es nicht bloß köstliche vegane Verführungen, der ultra cool im Memphis-Style gehaltene Laden überzeugt uns auch optisch – das vegane Sahnehäubchen sozusagen. Ein gekachelter, runder Tresen (dessen Auslage bereits einen Vorgeschmack auf die uns erwartenden Leckereien gibt), Kugellampen darüber, uns gefällt besonders das Neon-Leuchtschrift. Hängepflanzen an der hellen Fensterfront, Terrazzotische und Petroleum- und orangefarbene Samthocker schaffen ein fröhlich-poppiges Ambiente.

Im Café Greenfinch ist es gut besucht – klar, Samstagvormittag eben – und ein wenig wuselig, und doch überzeugt der Service mit viel Charme und Herzlichkeit. Einfach gute Vibes denke ich mir und werde vom prompt vom gut gelaunten Mit-Inhaber Vincent begrüßt, der mir erklärt, weshalb die Karte impferctly vegan kündet, wenn im Greenfinch doch alles zu 100 % vegan ist (ja, auch das Grilled Cheese Sandwich und die Pancakes): „Ich glaube, das bringt viel mehr, die Leute vom veganen Essen zu überzeugen, als immer druck auszuüben".

Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (30)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (28)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (27)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (25)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (23)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (22)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (19)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (15)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (13)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (5)
Cafe Greenfinch Berlin (11)

Wie um diese Worte zu unterstreichen bringt er mir einen der frisch gepressten Smoothies und Säfte. Den Detox Slow Juice mit Selleriesaft und Grapefruit werde ich mir von nun an auch zuhause öfters mal zubereiten werden, weil lecker und wunderbar erfrischend am Samstagvormittag. Dazu gibt es eine köstliche süße Kugel mit Mandel, Dattel und weißer Schoki, die uns vom Hocker haut.

Auch die dicken, fluffigen Pancakes mit Vanillesahne, Obst und viel Ahornsirup können überzeugen. Besonders schafft dies allerdings das Rainbow Sourdough. Das Wort Stulle ist hier definitiv eine Untertreibung: allerlei Frisches in vielen bunten Farben tummelt sich auf einer dicken Scheibe getoasteten Sauerteigbrots. Hausgemachter Hummus etwa, Guacamole, frische Kräuter und gegrillte Bete ergeben zusammen ein schönes Aromenspiel aus süßlich, sauer, herzhaft.

Äußerst gut gesättigt und versorgt mit guten Vibes (und noch einem Ingwer-Shot) brechen wir auf in den weiteren Verlauf des Samstags. Yoga gibt es nämlich im Café Greenfinch derzeit leider nicht mehr, der hintere Teil des Cafés ist inzwischen auch ein Gastraum, inklusive massivem, ebenfalls weiß gekacheltem Tisch. Man munkelt aber bereits, dass Yoga bald wieder ein Teil des Greenfinch sein wird – passt auch einfach zu gut zum vegan happy lifestyle.

Berlin
Café Greenfinch – The vegan Good Life
Reset Map